Close-out procedures

theprejudiced

Close-out procedures

Post by theprejudiced » Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:12 pm

Dear Board,

After 6 years battling with xxxxx Childrens Services, they have finally come to their senses and decided to close their file on my daughter.

They should be closing the case in January however; Following a discussion with the social worker, it appears that they will only close the case with "conditions".

As always, prior to any meeting - I have not been made privvy to this information, and do not know what these "conditions" may be.

My question is this... Can xxxxx Childrens Services close a case "on condition"? i.e. we'll close the case if you agree to solve world hunger / never try to contact your children ever again until the end of time. It smacks of "wednesbury unreasonableness" to me but I'm no lawyer.

I just need to know, if they ask me to sign any kind of agreement whether I should or not and whether I should just walk out of there if they say they'll only close the case if certain conditions are met.

Thank you soooo much for any advice you may be able to give!

Suzie, FRG Adviser

Re: Close-out procedures

Post by Suzie, FRG Adviser » Thu Dec 15, 2011 11:56 am

Thank you for posting on our discussion board.
I agree that it does sound unreasonable to close a case only “on condition” of you signing an agreement that you have not yet seen. Also a case is either open or closed.

Written agreements

However, often, children services may want parents to sign agreements about for example, safely in respect of contact with other parents, attending health appointments etc.
Parents need to have time to look over the agreement and seek legal advice if they want to and consider amendments.
Ask for a copy of the agreement in writing before the meeting-could they email it to you? -ask for time to look over the agreement and consider amendments which you could negotiate with children’s services.