Child Protection order

RS32

Child Protection order

Post by RS32 » Sat Mar 02, 2019 3:54 pm

Hi
I would really appreciate any advice anyone can give me.

Some background: I’m a single parent to two girls, aged 4 and 8. They are home educated. We don’t have contact with their dad. One of my children is autistic. I am a qualified mental health nurse, though haven’t been practising for a few years.

About 5 months ago I met my partner. He is a wonderful person: vegan activist, true gentleman. My previous partners have been abusive and manipulative, but he is the exact opposite. He is calm and chilled and listens to me. He provides amazing emotional support to me. He has met my children and is brilliant with them and they adore him. He is also autistic and honest to a fault, which isn’t always a good thing, but I appreciate it after living with my kids’ father for ten years, who was a manipulative narcissistic sociopath (actually diagnosed). I know a manipulative person when I see one, and my partner is not that! He doesn’t have a manipulative bone in his body.

Anyway, about 2 months after we met he had to confess to me that he is a convicted sex offender. His story is that images were found on his computer hard drive; a computer he maintains he bought from an old friend, who was later charged with sexual offences towards children. He was advised to plead guilty by his solicitor, and chose to do so to avoid a prolonged court case, being in the newspaper, potentially losing his job and his house, going to jail, etc. At the time he was only 26, in a stable relationship with his girlfriend who didn’t want children, and he thought he was doing the best thing. His mum wanted him to fight his case, but he was terrified of risking jail.