Sudden late social services involvement in third trimester - very stressed

Roxyroxy11

Sudden late social services involvement in third trimester - very stressed

Post by Roxyroxy11 » Mon Feb 05, 2024 12:16 pm

Hello
I am currently 28 weeks and 3 days pregnant.

I got a phone call on Friday 2nd Feb 2024 to say there had been a referral to social services. The social worker basically demanded to meet me and then a pre birth assessment would be arranged. I thought the referral came from my midwife and was very confused. I took the phone call in the middle of a class I was teaching in case it was an emergency. She was aware on the phone that I was a teacher so I am not sure why she decided that was even a good time to call.

I was on the phone to my midwife yesterday and she said the referral didn't come from her which is what I had been very concerned about. She said she was happy with me and my partner and she was glad that we attend all appointments and scans together since 6 weeks. She said if they asked her for any information, that is what she would say.

The referral to social services actually is from 2 months ago!!!

Basically, I had a traumatic miscarriage last year. The baby's due date would have been the 10th Dec 2024. On this day in December, I had very heavy bleeding. It was from trying to have a bowel movement. My partner was due to go help a friend with farm work. He told me not to worry as it was probably just haemorrhoids. I was frustrated at the time that he didn't stay with me or take me to a&e probably mostly due to my already mournful mood. After a bit his mum called around and said she would take me to a&e.
I was in there for over 7 hours. I was with no food, had a migraine, upset and worried about baby due to bleeding and also frustrated because I thought my partner knew i was away and didnt get in touch, turns out he didnt until much later in the evening.