Family Group conference truth & parenting assessment

Inthedark

Family Group conference truth & parenting assessment

Post by Inthedark » Wed Jun 29, 2016 12:54 pm

Hi this is my first time posting on a forum and I'm after some truthful (what really happens not what they say on paper happens) advice please. A little bit of background - my partners Nearly 4 year old son from a previous relationship was taken into foster care in February and is currently going through the care proceedings as his mother was caught (and arrested) assaulting him in a public (cctv evidence). cutting a very long story short for the purpose of this post my partner and I put ourselves forward as potential primary carers we have had our parenting assessments and are waiting for the reports which are due today. Obviously the mother has had a parenting assessment too plus a psychological assessment of which the outcome is very poor (report states that she is likely to hit the child again)

My partner and I have to attend a family group conference in 2 weeks which will be 2 days before the IRH final hearing in August. My concerns are that we feel we are being coaxed into going to this meeting to provide support for the mother in the event that the child is returned to her care. In other words we feel supporting her in this way would help her to increase the likelihood of the judge deciding to return the child to her care. This meeting seems to be about providing the best possible chance for the mother. Now we do not want to support a physically abusive mother with deep rooted mental health issues as we do not feel this is in the best interest of the child yet Childrens services and the family group coordinator keep telling us the Fgc is a good thing. Although we have been told we are not allowed to be judgemental negative or discuss what she did (the assault) at the meeting. Does anybody have any experience or advice of these Fgc meetings during care proceedings like this? Thanks in advance