I'm having a baby with a sex offender

Mysterious girl

I'm having a baby with a sex offender

Post by Mysterious girl » Mon Jan 11, 2016 2:57 pm

Hello, I am writing as I am a 21 year old student and my boyfriend is a registered sex offender. He has been on the sex offender register for 2 years and has 3 years left from something he did when he was under the age of 14. He has only been on the register 2 years as the victim was humming and ahhing whether to take him to court.

Please before you read on, I don't want "why are you with him" opinions, I just want some advice so maybe someone who has been in my shoes or knows someone who has dealt with social services.

He is 25, we have been together 3 and a half years.

I am 25 weeks pregnant, and have been told by my midwife there is going to be some sort of conference ( She didn't go into detail) sometime before the baby is born involving social services, my midwife and my partners police worker who deals with him. Since being told this, I have been to see a solicitor as I felt my human rights were being played with (even longer story) and she was talking about whether this baby will be taken off me and what would I do. Her saying this scared me to death, will my baby be taken off me ? Me and my partner currently live with each others parents (separate) and will be for the foreseeable future.

He can have contact with children, just not work with children and even though social services were involved at first as he has two nieces under the age of 18, but can still see them when he wants as long as they are supervised.

My mum does not like my boyfriend and because of this he doesn't even come to my house, which is were the baby will spend most of his/her time and he will only see the baby on trips out or if I visit his house (which will be quite rare as i'm in the 3rd year of a degree and will have a newborn).