Section 38(6) where do I stand

Littleone

Section 38(6) where do I stand

Post by Littleone » Wed Jan 25, 2023 9:29 pm

Daughter took LO to hospital, injuries were found. She and her partner at the time, were questioned and signed a section 20, and were told SW's were starting section 47 enquiries.

I'm my grandchild's maternal grandmother and I was originally allowed to take LO home with their parents under a 24/7 supervision order. This was asked of me via phone-call, and I was asked if I understood the extent of LO's injuries. They seemed to make a point out of the fact I'm a registered nurse. Injuries were rib fractures and marks on body.

Daughter said when questioned at the hospital, that the only time LO wasn't in her or her ex partners care, was the one occasion me and my husband took LO's for a walk in the pram, for around 2 hours.

2 weeks later we were told its possible for LO to not stay in our care, as we're in the 'pool of perpetrators'. Nothing changed. My daughter then broke up with her partner as she couldn't understand how these injuries happened, and why he didn't get LO checked over. Ex partner has since seen LO once (after being prompted) and has moved to a different area. SW's are aware of this. We then let the SW's know, that we think they've originally made a mistake, as we don't understand why we were allowed to go home under a section 20 originally, and then be told later we're in the pool.

Then we were seen by a kinship SW who started our assessment. She confirmed we were temporarily approved carers under regulation 24. LO has been with me, husband and my daughter for 7 weeks. Today we we're told the results from the second skeletal X-ray, confirmed the fractures, some showed signs of healing, and some didn't.

Following this me and my husband are still in the pool, the SW told my daughter that LO can stay with us under a Section 38(6). However our kinship carer assessment has now been stopped.