Newbie here

DefaultNana

Newbie here

Post by DefaultNana » Fri Oct 14, 2016 10:09 am

Hi everyone, I along with my husband look after 2 children for the last 7 years with sgo being granted 6 years ago. My husband's daughter is once again making noises about attempting to overturn sgo but this time is taking things to court to apply for leave to overturn the order.
We have maintained minimum monthly contact and sometimes more during the last 6 years and it is a 400 mile round trip to do so. We also look after another 2 children under a permanence order. Hubby's daughter is claiming my health and the fact we look after 2 other children as her reasons to overturn the order. I had a stroke in May this year hence her citing my health. I have fully recovered however.
Daughter has now married and has two further children of this marriage who live with her and recently has had care of her husband's children who are of a previous marriage for him. So 4 children live with her presently.
We enjoyed a good relationship with her up till last year when after asking for the children to stay a full fortnight away and us refusing as they had previously only stayed away for 10 days she cut all contact with my husband and only messages me to berate us about something or to check when we will be arriving with the children. Not once in the 6 years since sgo has she come to see the children here and very rarely calls re the kids. We have just to drop them off and go away in her eyes. She doesn't communicate any further than this when previously we all would have a cuppa prior to the journey home. This is what has helped the children accept the situation and they do know something has changed.
Sorry for the rant and the length of post I suppose what I'm asking is..is she likely to succeed in this court action? We have a lawyer but would have to pay to defend ourselves in court should she be granted leave to challenge the sgo.
Thank you for listening/reading ;)

Suzie, FRG Adviser